Logo image We are pleased to announce the following leadership additions at the Unicode Consortium. “Each of these individuals brings deep expertise in their field,” said Mark Davis, president of the Consortium. “They have already made
significant improvements in their new roles.”

Unicode Emoji Subcommittee

Chair: Jennifer Daniel

Jennifer Daniel’s first contribution to Unicode was standardizing
gender inclusive representations in emoji. As a designer, author and former
graphics editor at the New York Times, she now explores communication and
messaging through verbal, written, auditory and visual expression at a small ad
company called Google. Jennifer is a co-author and illustrator of a number of
graphics books including How to Be Human, Space!, and the Origins of Almost
Everything. Her work has been recognized by the Walker Art Museum, Society of
Illustrators and published in the New Yorker, The Washington Post, and Time
Magazine to name a few. She has had the honor to serve as a judge for the
Society of News Design, Online News Association, Society of Illustrators,
American Illustration, Data is Beautiful and the Art Director’s Club. She lives
in Berkeley, California but also in cyberspace.

Vice Chair: Ned Holbrook

Ned Holbrook is a typographic engineer at Apple, specializing in
text layout and fonts. He was one of the participants in the industry-wide
effort to standardize variable font technology in OpenType. He previously worked
on wireless networking, virtualization, digital audio, embedded graphics, and
remote filesystems.

Unicode CLDR Committee

Vice Chair: Kristi Lee

Kristi Lee is the CLDR technical committee vice-chair, and she
represents Microsoft in the CLDR technical committee. She joined Microsoft in
1997 and has worked in a number of different divisions and product development
groups. Her focus has been delivering solutions to international customers in
localization and internationalization. She holds a mathematics degree from
University of Washington. Currently, she is in the Corporate division in
Microsoft and works with engineering groups across Microsoft including Windows,
.NET, Office, and others on topics relating to CLDR and i18n.

Executive Officer

General Counsel: Anne Gundelfinger

Anne is an experienced legal executive with 30 years in private
practice and in-house legal roles. From 2013-2019 she served as vice president
for global intellectual property for Swarovski, a global fashion jewelry brand
based in central Europe. Before that she held various positions over a decade in
the Intel legal department including vice president for global public policy,
vice president for global sales & marketing legal affairs, and director of
trademarks & brands. Early in her career she was an associate at Fenwick & West and director of trademarks at Sun Microsystems. Since retiring from
Swarovski, Anne has been a consultant and has served as a World Intellectual
Property Organization domain name panelist under the Uniform Dispute Resolution
Policy of ICANN. Anne has long been a leader in the global IP bar. She served on
the Board of Directors of the International Trademark Association for nearly a
decade and served as the Association’s president in 2005.

Mark Davis, the former chair of the emoji subcommittee, will
continue to contribute to the emoji subcommittee and serve as president of the
Unicode Consortium. “I’d also like to thank John Emmons for his many years of
service as chair and vice chair of the CLDR technical committee,” said Davis.
“Especially for his work in promoting support for digitally disadvantaged

Over 140,000 characters are available for adoption
to help the Unicode Consortium’s work on digitally disadvantaged languages