The latest
Unicode Emoji
can now be adopted. See
Recently Added, v12.0
for a full list.




ice cube

ringed planet


You can adopt one of the new emoji yourself, or for friends, family, and so on. While the
new emoji will appear on mobile phones and other devices later this
year, you can adopt them right now! Gold level adoptions are special — if you
adopt an emoji at the gold level, you are guaranteed to be the only sponsor at
that level.

Your sponsorship helps to support the Unicode Consortium’s mission
to enable a growing number of languages to be used on computers. The
Adopt-a-Character program funds work on digitally disadvantaged languages, both
modern and historic. In 2018 and 2019 the program awarded grants to support work on
improved keyboard layouts, additional work on Mayan hieroglyphs, and more
historic Indic scripts, among others.

You can now also adopt any of the nearly 500 other
characters in Unicode 12.0, and of course you can adopt from any of the
over 136,000 characters already in Unicode.

For more information on the program, or to adopt a character, see
Adopt-a-Character Page

Over 136,000 characters are available for
to help the Unicode Consortium’s work on digitally disadvantaged languages