Version 14.0 of the Unicode Standard is now available, including the core specification,
annexes, and data files. This version adds 838 characters, for a total of 144,697
characters. These additions include five new scripts, for a total of 159
scripts, as well as 37 new emoji characters.

The new scripts and characters in Version 14.0 add support for modern language
groups in Bosnia, India, Indonesia, Iran, Java, Malaysia, Mongolia, Myanmar, Pakistan,
and the Philippines, plus other languages in Africa and North America, including:

Arabic script
additions that include honorifics and additions for Quranic use, and characters
used to write languages across Africa, the Balkans, and South and
Southeast Asia
The Vithkuqi script historically
used to write Albanian and currently undergoing a modern revival
The Tangsa script
used to write the Tangsa language, spoken in India and Myanmar
The Toto
script used to write the Toto language in northeast India
Many Latin script
additions for extended IPA

Popular symbol additions include:

37 emoji characters,
including several new emoji for emotion and hand gestures (smileys, hands,
animals and nature, food and drink, transport, and activities). For the
full list of new emoji characters, see emoji additions for
Unicode 14.0
, and Emoji Counts.
For a detailed description of support for
emoji characters by the Unicode Standard, see UTS #51, Unicode Emoji.

Other symbol and notational additions include:

The som currency sign used in the Kyrgyz Republic
Znamenny musical notation developed in Russia

Support for other modern languages and scholarly work extends worldwide, including:

Cypro-Minoan, historically used primarily on the island of Cyprus
Old Uyghur, historically used in Central Asia and elsewhere to write Turkic, Chinese, Mongolian, Tibetan, and Arabic languages
Ahom, Balinese, Brahmi, Canadian aboriginal languages, Glagolitic, Kaithi, Kannada, Mongolian, Tagalog, Takri, and Telugu
Arabic support for Hausa, Wolof, Hindko, and
Punjabi, and Ethiopic support for Gurage

Important chart font updates, including:

Significant updates to the CJK auxiliary blocks and enclosed alphanumerics

Unicode properties and specifications determine the behavior of text on computers and
phones. Changes in Version 14.0 include the following Unicode Standard Annexes
and Technical Standards that have notable modifications:

Five important Unicode annexes updated for Version 14.0:

UAX #14, Unicode Linebreaking Algorithm
UAX #29, Unicode Text Segmentation
UAX #31, Unicode Identifier and Pattern Syntax
UAX #38, Unicode Han Database (Unihan)
UAX #45, U-Source Ideographs

Three important Unicode specifications updated for Version 14.0:

UTS #10, Unicode Collation Algorithm — sorting Unicode text
UTS #39, Unicode Security Mechanisms — reducing Unicode spoofing
UTS #46, Unicode IDNA Compatibility Processing — compatible processing of non-ASCII URLs

The Unicode Standard is the foundation for all modern software and communications
around the world, including operating systems, browsers, laptops, and smart
phones—plus the Internet and Web (URLs, HTML, XML, CSS, JSON, etc.). The
Unicode Standard, its associated standards, and data form the foundation for CLDR
and ICU releases.

Over 144,000 characters are available for adoption
to help the Unicode Consortium’s work on digitally disadvantaged languages